Nwifuru Emerges Speaker of Ebonyi 6th Assembly

" />

By Agnes Igwe

Hon. Francis Nwifuru member  representing Izzi West Constituency and former Speaker of the immediate past Ebonyi 5th Assembly has been re-elected Speaker of the newly inaugurated 6th House of Assembly of the state.

Nwifuru emerged by the consensus of the entire members through a nomination by the member representing Afikpo North West Constituency, Mr. Kingsley Ikoro and seconded by Mr. Oliver Osi representing Ivo Constituency.

History also repeated itself as Mr. Odefa Obasi Odefa representing Onicha East Constituency retained his seat as Deputy speaker, while the House accepted a memo from the Peoples Democratic Party, through Governor David Nweze Umahi unanimously nominating Mr. Victor Chukwu as the House leader and Mr. Kingsley Ikoro as Deputy leader.

Other principal officers include Mr. Humphrey Nwuruku as Chief Whip and Mr. Benjamin Ezeoma as Deputy Chief Whip.

Governor David Nweze Umahi had earlier set the tone for the opening session through issuance of a proclamation for the inauguration of the sixth Assembly in a letter read on the floor of the House, in exercise of the power bestowed upon him by section 105 sub sections 3 of the 1999 Constitution, as amended.

In his inaugural speech after emerging two-time Speaker of the House of Assembly, Mr. Nwifuru assured that the legislative arm of the government would work patriotically with the executive to attain optimal performance for the people of the state.

Nwifuru also assured that the house would provide strong and vibrant oversight function, give priority into the welfare of members and staff, and appealed to the lawmakers not to engage in acts that would distract the house from its duties.

He also assured of accelerated consideration of executive bills sent to the Assembly for actualization of set goals.

Controversy however trailed the inauguration of Mr. Victor Aleke representing Ebonyi North West constituency and his counterpart from Ohaukwu North, Mr. Chinedu Awo whose admission into the hallowed chambers was stepped down by the Clerk of the House, Mrs. Patricia Anasi, for non submission of Certificate of Return and Code of Conduct Bureau forms to the House leadership.

Follow us